Basic Instinct

Last week when I started my wardrobe over-haul I needed inspiration  and looked to the latest trends. As inspiration struck , I realised that you cannot have the perfect wardrobe without the basics.  These pieces are usually timeless and with some organisation might just help you in those ‘I have nothing to wear’ moments. I’d rather build a wardrobe of classics and  add a few strategic on trend pieces to keep it up to date than spend money on trends that will be here today and gone tomorrow. After hours of research I’ve narrowed the must have basics down to these top twelve:

 

The White -Tee

Believe it or not I have never been a fan of the white tee until recently. I probably  have missed out on years of effortless style. Last summer I teamed it up with a white jeans just like the one pictured below , threw on a kimono all in five minutes and I was ready for my Saturday morning shenanigans. Don’t be afraid to add a grey and black tee to your arsenal as well, you wont be sorry.

white tee
Image courtesy of Gabi Fresh.com

 

It’s all in the  Jeans

Every closet needs that pair of jeans that hugs and accentuates every curve. You’ll know you’ve found the perfect pair when you step into it and feel like a conqueror.

perfect jeans
Image courtesy of Nadia Aboulhosn

 

White Sneakers

Whether you pairing it with a dress, athleisure or jeans nothing says ‘pulled together’ more than a classic pair of sneakers.

sneakers
Image courtesy of Pinterest

The perfect blazer

A perfectly tailored blazer can turn any outfit into a statement piece.

blazer
Image courtesy Tanesha Awasthi.com

LBD

If you get nothing else but the Little Black Dress you would have done well. This age-old classic can take you from the office to a cocktail party. Versatile and chic, nothing beats the LBD!

lbd
Image courtesy of Nicolette Mason.com

The black pump

Just like the LBD, the black pump can take you from office to party without breaking a sweat .

black pump
Image courtesy of Pinterest

Pencil skirt

Another look that has made it through the ages. You can dress it up or down. Tight in all the right places but lots of breathing space for your legs.

pencil skirt
Teer Wayde Image courtesy of Pinterest

White Button Down Shirt

Ah, the classic white shirt, another timeless wardrobe staple. Nothing beats a crisp white shirt. In the same category as that ‘just out of the shower, straight into cotton p.js to lay down on clean sheets’feeling.

white button down
Image courtesy of Trendy Curvy

Black Trousers

This has always been a staple in my wardrobe, but for the past three years I have updated the look as my taste has gravitated towards cigarette trousers* as pictured further up with the black pump*. Stylish, chic and just a tad playful.

black trousers
Image courtesy DanielleVanier.co.uk

Strappy Heel

A nice strappy heel, once again in a neutral colour will complement denim as easily as it does dresses.

strappy
Image courtesy of Pinterest

Red lips

A few years ago I went to see Akon in concert and tried red lipstick for the first time. I hated it , I felt like a clown but then I fell in love with it and now I never leave home without it. Nothing ties an outfit together perfectly than red lips. My favourite shades are Ruby Woo *Mac*, Russian Red *MAC*, Perfect Red in Matte *NYX* and Certainly Red *Revlon*. As Coco Chanel said ‘ If you sad, add more lipstick and attack’.

red lips
Image courtesy of J’adore

Coats/Jackets

I am not a coat person but this is worth a mention as all research indicates that when it comes to covering up in winter you need a leather jacket, a denim jacket and a classic trench coat to finish off your look. If I had to choose one it would be the timeless trench as seen on Jackie Onassis.

jackie o
Jackie O *image courtesy of Pinterest*
2 thoughts on “Basic Instinct

Leave a Reply

