A midwinter night’s dream.

Feeling the need to update my wardrobe for summer I went looking at the 2016 Spring/Summer collections for inspiration,in hopes that the fashion world  will get me out of my winter depression.I’m a tad eager for summer to rear its head i know but you need something to look forward to.Its the little things that keep me sane!

These are my favorite trends for SS 2016,that caught my eye and it looks easy enough to incorporate into any wardrobe. I hope it brings some sunshine into your  wardrobe.

1.Cold Shoulder

I am a big fan of off the shoulder everything. Imagine my excitement when I saw the off the shoulder top or cold shoulder as its known make the cut. It seems this is a big hit this summer.

off the shoulder
Courtesy of theoutfit.com

2.Rucksacks

As much as I am a bag person, this trend is not for me, this time around. I love it , I wore it in the 90’s. It re-surfaced in 2014 and it seems its going to be here for another season.  I have seen this trend on every street corner, no wonder it made another season.

backpack
As seen on Olivia Palermo – image courtesy of thehunt.com

3.Victorian

Another firm favorite of mine is the high collared Victorian styled shirts. With puffy sleeves and bows the Victorian trend has never looked more romantic.

victorian
Image courtesy of brit.co

4.Slip Dress

Personally I don’t think this trend is for me which is okay because not every trend is meant to make its way to your wardrobe, but seeing that this was big on the runway, I thought I would include it.  If you love the feminine  feel that wearing underwear  as outerwear gives , this is a must have according to fashionistas everywhere.

slip dress
As seen on the runway for Givenchy *image courtesy of gettyimages.ie
  1. Graphic bags

Now this is something I can get excited about. Bold statement bags are in. A statement bag can pull any outfit together and portray your mood at the same time.

statement bags
Nomuzi Mabena wearing a Maria Mccloy bag *image courtesy of Maria Mccloy*
  1. Embroidered dress

Think boho, romantic, peace , love and fairy dress, this is how I would describe the feel of this trend. Over the past month I have seen this dress pop up more and more on my feed and I find myself strangely drawn to it .

embroidered
Image courtesy of aliexpress.com
  1. Tiara

Breakfast at Tiffany’s is my all-time favourite movie and sometimes I think it’s because for  the first time in my life this movie made it perfectly normal for a lady *not of the Royal descent* to include a Tiara in her everyday wear.  When I saw this in  SS2016 I can’t even explain how my heart jumped for joy. Forget the headbands and flower garlands, Tiara’s are this season’s it hair accessory. And luckily for me I just brought a fresh batch back from Turkey.

tiara
Image courtesy of vogue.fr

8.White Shirt

This wardrobe staple is classic. The basic white shirt however has had a major revamp on the runway. Think asymmetrical, button down,shirt dress even off the shoulder.

white shirt 2 isobel
Image courtesy of Isabel de Villiers
  1. Flats

Flats have always equaled comfort. Now comfort meets understated style. As seen on the runway for Victoria Beckham, mules are now on trend. Think I’ll stick to flats.

flats
Image courtesy of Aldo South Africa

10 Denim

Whether you like yours distressed, really short dresses, or short shorts, raw, light, shirt dresses, boyfriend or high-waisted, denim is another wardrobe basic and took its place as a firm favourite on the runway.

denim
Image courtesy of Nadia Aboulhosn

Thank you for reading xx

3 thoughts on “A midwinter night’s dream.

Leave a Reply

