Drinking champagne on a beer budget!

I have always had a penchant for treating myself to the little things in life. You know ‘The keep me sane in moments of complete chaos’, the picker uppers, the ‘your life isn’t bad , this is just a bad moment’, those things that make a bad day instantly better. This loosely translates to a spa visit, cupping , an occasional splurge on a must have bag, Russian red lipstick, a lunch date at that quirky restaurant, candy floss cupcakes, vanilla candles, poetry and ,and and.

Recently however I’ve been feeling a bit guilty when it comes to spending money on myself and I don’t know if this is because I’m successfully ‘adulting’ or because we are going through tough economic times.

All I know is I don’t like it, not one bit. So in an attempt to hold onto my sanity I have given myself permission to be okay with investing in ME and isn’t there an old adage along the lines of ‘if you don’t fill your cup no one else will’?!

So now I’m living champagne on a beer budget. I still invest in a good splurge now and then by using my Cost Per Wear Ratio formula. This is the Total cost of the item/ estimated number of days you’ll wear it = the cost per wear.This justifies my purchase when I can see the total amount I am spending on an item every time I wear it.I instantly feel better. Talk about value for money and all it took was a change in attitude and logic. Go figure.

When it comes to make up , a good lipstick can do wonders. For all the avid MAC wearers, they have a ‘Back-to-M·A·C Program. ‘By returning six [6] M·A·C primary packaging containers to a M·A·C counter or M·A·C Cosmetics online, you’ll receive a free M·A·C lipstick of your choice as our thanks to you.’ Score !!!

Sites like Groupon who send emails with deals-of-the-day is a great way to get discounted rates on massages and so much more. As it says on the website ‘Commonly, the deals are 50% discounts at a particular restaurant, or 50% discounts at a particular store.

For travelling purposes I almost always use booking.com . There honestly are plenty of sites who offer online accommodation but I love booking.com mainly because I have received such great deals on hotels locally and internationally in the past. Believed to be ‘one of Google’s largest advertisers’ , they must be doing something right.

To help me reach my final decision I then head on over to Tripadvisor this is where I not only get a comparison price but most importantly this is where I read ALL reviews about the hotel I’m interested in. I immediately know if the price I am paying will mirror the experience.

And then finally when it comes to those ‘gourmet eateries’. Some have introduced a ‘Two course lunch’, a summer menu or a Gourmand menu with or without wine or tea pairing at a fixed rate. Where others offer half price sushi or happy hour at a certain time. You know exactly what you will be spending before you make your booking . No surprises and no compromising .

Happy champagne drinking everyone xoxo

shopping

2 thoughts on “Drinking champagne on a beer budget!

Leave a Reply

